Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

why not open source?

Posted by hjorge 
why not open source?
November 04, 2014 09:39AM
Hi guys, and a special question to Jim, the ByVac creator... for sure this has been thought and question many times but i thought of keep the debate of ideas again open and see if their is a change in heart...

i might be out of the loop here as i am a new comer in this community but after geting all the info available around in the net on the ByPic project and reading most of the posts here in the forum i realized what some already asked or thought at least! which is why not open source and what can be done to draw more users in?

Why is not ByPic an open source project? for sure is a simple question with many implications... at least make it open and if you feel scare that someone get your work for nothing you can allways make it completely open to all but restrict to been comerciall... this is just an example....

As a small business owner i can understand how scary one can think by giving away their own secret sauce when so much time and efort was invested in but then again if we think clear and see so many examples out there we see many business startups, also small put everything on an open source platform and had great sucess and make good business out of it, so the million euro question is why is this not the case? what other have that ByPic do not have?

in comparison too many i see the examples and tutorials especial for someone like starting is only a couple of code examples which makes it hard to jump in if one compare to some other big boys like the arduino, launchpad etc... that is why is so important in my view to make all the info available and open in order for many as possible to put out there their examples, their tutorials and one day ByPic can have a decente amount of docs for the newbie to follow and learn.