Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

ByPic Tutorial

Posted by chipfryer27 
ByPic Tutorial
May 25, 2015 11:56PM
Hi

I'm a complete newbie with ByPic and I've just obtained the BV500 Kit, installed rookie v3.0 as per the user guide and I'm working my way through the tutorials. However, having reached the 7-Segment Display examples I'm running into a bit of trouble.

When I download the following tutorial in PSPad and "F4" I get an error report informing of errors in Line 68 and Line 86.

[byvac.com]

I compared the download with the expanded code and Line 68 is different (amongst others). I attributed my problem with the download to my version of rookie which doesn't use the table functions but instead uses curly brackets {}.

I copied and pasted the expanded code (with curly brackets) but I still get the same error messages which are:
ERROR <27> <DIGIT$>
ERROR <0> <n>>

I've looked up the error codes and tried to modify the code based on info contained in Key Words, but I can't get it to work.

I've looked through the forum/faq but can't see anything related, so hopefully someone reading this can put me in the right direction.

Thanks in advance.
Re: ByPic Tutorial
May 26, 2015 02:29PM
** edit: rookie2 should be downloaded not rookie3 **
Welcome to ByPic,
The BV500 kit contains a BP1 (more details of this particular device). This now has an PIC32MX170, the older versions of BP1 had a PIC32MX150.

The main difference from a ByPic point of view is that the MX150 uses version 2.0n firmware and the MX170 uses 2.3n firmware. The newer firmware amongst other things allows passing of arrays to functions which has made rookie much simpler and more logical. For example if an LED were connected to PORTA bit 4 then:

constant LED {PORTA(PORT),4}

Now the program can refer to *LED() that contains all of the information to set and reset the hardware line. But that does not really answer the question.