Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Using a timing crystal

Posted by pete_l 
Using a timing crystal
October 03, 2012 07:29PM
Hi,
I've just stumbled across the BV500. The description says the device uses the internal 8MHz RC osc for timing. Is there a reason why I couldn't sacrifice the RA2,3 I-Os and reprogram the device to run off an external xtal instead?
I've been using 8-bit PICs for several years and I'm kicking around some ideas for a new project that will require the ability to get microsecond resolution of input pulses of up to 1 second duration. It seems like the BV500 should be able to do this, but I want the results to be independent of operating temperature, hence the crystal.

with thanks
Pete
Re: Using a timing crystal
October 03, 2012 07:47PM
Yes, you can add an external crystal and set the OSCCON register to use that instead of the internal one - see section 8 of the data sheet. The current configuration is as follows
#if defined ( USE_EXT_XTAL )
#   pragma config FNOSC    = PRIPLL   // Oscillator Selection: Primary oscillator (XT, HS, EC) w/ PL
#   pragma config POSCMOD  = HS       // Primary Oscillator: HS oscillator
#else
#   pragma config FNOSC    = FRCPLL   // Oscillator Selection
#   pragma config POSCMOD  = OFF //HS //EC       // Primary Oscillator
#endif//defined ( USE_EXT_XTAL )

//#pragma config PMDL1WAY = OFF	   // multiple configurarion
//#pragma config IOL1WAT  = OFF	
//#pragma config FUSBIDIO = OFF
//#pragma config FVBUSONIO = OFF
#pragma config FPLLIDIV = DIV_2    // PLL Input Divider: Divide by 2
#pragma config FPLLMUL  = MUL_20   // PLL Multiplier: Multiply by 20
#pragma config FPLLODIV = DIV_2    // PLL Output Divider: Divide by 2
#pragma config FSOSCEN  = OFF      // Secondary Oscillator Enable: Disabled
#pragma config IESO     = OFF       // Internal/External Switch-over: Disabled
#pragma config OSCIOFNC = OFF      // CLKO Enable: Disabled